SEW: A multitude of Kielos

When I first came across the Kielo Wrap dress, it was recommended to sew in a woven fabric – but the Instagram hash tag was FULL of jersey/knit versions. I’ve noticed since it’s re-release in 2020 (along with a new jumpsuit version!), the recommended fabric is now jersey. It’s interesting to notice a change in design in response (I presume) to sewist feedback.

I digress.

This wrap dress pattern is AWESOME. It’s all the glamour of a wrap dress without any sewing complexity. A cursory scroll through Instagram will reveal that it is, in essence, a squirrel suit! But such a good looking one.

I made two of these in relatively quick succession in 2019 when I first bought the pattern. For both of them, I used the free long-sleeve add on (which I think is now a standard part of the pattern) and cut off about 30cm in length, so the dress is knee-length. The second version – made of a heavier Art Gallery knit fabric – I made a facing for the neckline rather than a turned-under edging.

This year I splurged for my 40th (gulp) on some beautiful Lady McElroy viscose crepe jersey from Fabric Godmother in the UK. (Ironically, in the 2 months since, several online fabric stores have just started to stock Lady McElroy locally – Maai Design & Seamstress Fabrics among them!). This fabric was earmarked for a wrap dress – and I came back to the Kielo once more.

For my third Kielo, I used the bias binding finish to the neckband. I also opted for 3/4 sleeves and a tea-length hem. The viscose crepe is quite light (and wanted to move & snag a bit under the walking foot) so it did require some careful sewing.

The finished product:

Verdict: I AM SO IN LOVE WITH THIS DRESS.

Project: Kielo Wrap Dress

Designer: Named

Fabric: Lady McElroy viscose crepe jersey – Artisan Display

Notions: Clear elastic to stabilise shoulder seam

Reason for sewing: Another classic wrap-style dress for both work & social wardrobe. I love pretty & practical things!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started